Two African Nations Are Newly Added As Members Of Commonwealth

Togo and Gabon officially become members of the Commonwealth of Nations

Togo, officially the Togolese Republic is a country in West Africa. Gabon, officially the Gabonese Republic is a country on the west coast of Central Africa. The Commonwealth has admitted Gabon and Togo as its 55th and 56th members respectively. Both countries are former French colonies. Rwanda was the last country to join the Commonwealth, in 2009. The French-speaking West African states are the first new members to join the Commonwealth since Rwanda in 2009. Gabon and Togo joined the Commonwealth on 25th June, Saturday, becoming the latest nations with no historic ties to Britain. The 54-nation group of mostly former British colonies accepted Togo and Gabon’s application for membership on the final day of its leadership summit in Rwanda.

Photo Credit

leave a reply