APC’s Oyebanji Won The Ekiti Governorship Election, Nigeria

Former state commissioner Abiodun Oyebanji of the All Progressives Congress defeats former Governor Olusegun Oni of the Social Democratic Party. Oyebanji’s win means the APC has become the first party ever to win consecutive Ekiti gubernatorial elections.

Olusegun Oni, also known as Segun Oni, is a Nigerian politician and a former Governor of Ekiti State between 2007 and 2010. He was a member of the ruling People’s Democratic Party (PDP). In 2014 he defected from the PDP and joined All Progressive Congress (APC) where he was given the position of Deputy National Chairman South from 2014–2020. Abiodun Ayobami Oyebanji is a
Nigerian politician who is Governor-elect of Ekiti State. He is a member of All Progressive Congress (APC). The All Progressives Congress (APC) is one of the two major contemporary political parties in Nigeria. The party came to power in the 2015 presidential election. This marked the first time in Nigerian history that an opposition party unseated a governing party and power was transferred peacefully.

The 2022 Nigerian gubernatorial elections was held on 18 June 2022, in Ekiti State, and will be held 16 July 2022, in Osun State. On 18 June 2022, Oyebanji was elected governor on the APC platform by a 30% margin over first runner-up and SDP nominee former Governor Olusegun Oni. It was one of the earliest winner declarations in Nigerian history as the result was announced on the night of the election.  All Progressives Congress’s candidate Abiodun Oyebanji has been declared winner of the Saturday’s governorship election in Ekiti State.

Photo Credit

leave a reply